District tenure celebration

Administrators, department chairpersons and teachers were granted tenure at the district’s Board of Education meeting on May 12. Prior to the meeting, the district held its annual tenure celebration, where administrators and board members gathered to acknowledge the significance of this milestone for administrators, chairpersons and teachers in their careers.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Bill Heidenreich and Board of Education Vice President Jeanne Greco Jacobs shared advice with the honorees, encouraging them to continue their best practices, continually look to grow and always be aware of what is in the best interest of students.

The evening included a performance from North High School’s choral group The 7:10 Downbeats. There was also an art exhibit by Central High School AP art students. Dinner was prepared by students in the culinary arts program with teacher/chef Peter Augello.

The following individuals received tenure:

Dr. Jennifer Gallagher — District Director of Instructional Services

Lorraine Burnett — District Chairperson of Committee on Special Education

Jacquelin Allen — Assistant Principal, South High School

Julia Lenigan — Department Chair, Central High School

Lizette Elezi — Teacher, Central High School

Rachel Kennedy — Teacher, North High School

Rajalakshmi Narendran — Teacher, North High School

Daniel Vicchiarelli — Teacher, North High School

“On behalf of the Board of Education, I congratulate all of our tenure recipients, and look forward to working with all of you for many years to come,” said Dr. Heidenreich.