Feb. 9 VSCHSD Board of Ed. Meeting Highlights Music

Students were recognized for their achievements in music at the Feb. 9 Valley Stream Central High School District’s Board of Education Meeting. Board of Education President Dr. Frank Chiachiere, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Bill Heidenreich and District Coordinator of Fine and Performing Arts Dr. Adam Erdos presented certificates to musicians representing each of the four schools.

Maria Mayorga of Central High School, Julia Acosta, Kaithlyn Massiah and Gwyneth Pascual of Memorial Junior High School, Rose DioLallevi, Kailyn Fan and Alena Moreira of North High School and Rebecca Possidel, Maya Wilkerson and Allyce Yang of South High School participated in the Long Island String Festival Association concert.

Morgan Foster and Daniel Sanky of North and Allyce Yang of South were honored for their performances with New York State School Music Association’s All-State ensembles.

A total of eighty-six students were selected to NYSSMA All-County groups. They are Naima Alakham, Deanna Braithwaite, Alexander Brothers, Kiera Finn, Niki King, Maria Mayorga, Abeizer Regino, Lynette Soler, Alexander Trajan, Arianna Tzunum, Niko Valentin and Milton Willacey of Central, Nyla Canete, Emmett Conway, Sarah Hock, Santina Leone, Kaithlyn Massiah, Gwyneth Pascual, Arianna Picillo, Safiyah Seelochan and Crystina Windham of Memorial, Victoria Alcala, Anthony Balack, Jacqueline Blain, Jessica Buontempo, Robert Burke, Victoria Calabrese, Anthony Capolino, Julianna Carucci, Alina Castelluzzo, Angelica Celis, Jonathan Chen, Taylor Cirri, Amelia Cossentino, Rose DioLallevi, Laila Drosman, Tiara Evans, Kailyn Fan, Derek Feliu, Christopher Ferro, Jeremy Fontaine, Devonte Gordon, William Hudson, Sellia Jacob, Luiz Lemos, Gina Maniscalco, Matthew Manza, Shannon Morgan, Garrick Neuner, Christopher Ottomanelli, Aniko Ouwendijk, Kashmiraa Pandit, Christian Pareja, Stephen Rettagliata, Nicholas Sossi Romano, Sophia Romano, Brianna Ruffino, Daniel Sanky, Cianna Sarmiento, Nithin Seelan, Kamille Shrestha, Dylan Silva, Presley Stelle, Jilliana Strojan, Mahmoud Telab, Jayden Times, Megan Trentacosta, Jessica Tsu, Ryan Walfisch, Matthew Wang, Anna Westfall and Alex Zhuo of North and Matthew Almonte, Hope Atkins, Monu Baiju, Juliana Caputo, Britney Dunn, Nicolas Farias, Gibron Khan, Nathanael Moore, Christopher Possidel, Rebecca Possidel, Moises Rodriguez, Rishav Singh, Sabrina Villela and Allyce Yang of South.

Also at this meeting, Dr. Chiachiere and Dr. Heidenreich shared the news that they recently attended an event at the Tilles Center featuring Billy Joel. The famous music artist took the time to speak with students, one of whom was from Valley Stream.