VSCHSD Adds Eid Holidays to Calendar, Honors Music Students at Meeting

 Eid Holidays thumbnail73514

The Valley Stream Central High School District’s Feb. 14 Board of Education Meeting featured recognitions of student musicians, as well as the approval of a resolution to add Eid-ul-Fitr and Eid-ul-Adha to the district calendar as holidays for which schools will be closed. Board of Education President Cristobal Stewart expressed the significance of this event as one that supports tolerance, diversity and cultural awareness.

Students from Central, North and South high schools as well as Memorial Junior High School received certificates and applause for their acceptance to highly-competitive musical ensembles. Central High School student Alexander Brothers was selected to NYSSMA All-State earlier this school year, 18 students from the four buildings performed in the Long Island String Festival Association concert and a total of 90 students representing all of the schools participated in the NYSSMA All-County musical ensembles.



Alexander Brothers (Central High School)


Long Island Strings Festival Association


Raylana Ciceron

Kaithlyn Massiah

Gwyneth Pascual

Benjamin Puca-Mendez


Nyla Canete




Rose DioLallevi

Kailyn Fan

Kayla Moonsammy

Alena Moreira

Erin St. Angelo


Kimberly Catalan

Angela Lee

Jessica Ma

Nicole Pellman

Christopher Possidel

Samantha Ramirez



Bianca Balkaran

Alexander Brothers

Raylana Ciceron

Dominique Coppin

Victoria Dunn

James Jones Jr.

Niki King

Kaithlyn Massiah

Abeizer Regino

Gabriella Reyes

Jenna Shakur

Kristen Smith

Joshua Tanoy


Nyla Canete

Emmett Conway

Sarah Hock

Jethro Tanoy

Matthew Tineo

Katherine Torchenaud

Crystina Windham


Selina Barnes

Jacqueline Blain

Jessica Buontempo

Jenna Campo

Angelica Celis

John Chen

Amelia Cossentino

Catherine Davi

John Delcarpine

Gabriel Delos Santos

Rose DioLallevi

Ahmed Elhathat

Kailyn Fan

Chris Ferro

Paula Gbenebitse

Noah Gonzalez

Nehilah Grand-Pierre

Brianna Houlihan

William Hudson

Hannah Indiviglio

Lindsey Jacob

Zoie James

Caroline Jones

Geralyn Jones

Jack Kalb

Luis Lemos

Matthew Manza

Giovanni Mascetti

Emma Michel

Kayla Moonsammy

Michael Munson

Garrick Neuner

Olivia Neuner

Ruth Ogbemudia

Christopher Ottomanelli

Aniko Ouwendijk

Kashmiraa Pandit

Erin Quinn

Jessica Reyes

Cianna Sarmiento

Isabella Scarpa

Nithin Seelan

Kamille Shrestha

Jonathan Sossi Romano

Nicholas Sossi Romano

Erin St. Angelo

Qamara Stephenson

Jilliana Strojan

Charlotte Szulkin

Danae Thomas

Kevin Villada

Ryan Walfisch

Brandon Whipple

Galvin Williams Jr.

Elizabeth Wischerth

Jonathan Xavier


Britney Dunn

Hannah Johnston

Jillian Ledesma

Angela Lee

Jessica Ma

Jalen Nicolas

Pablo Pazmino

Samantha Ramirez

Larisa Rivera-Vasquez

Moises Rodriguez

Rishav Singh

Tessa Yan