Valley Stream Board Meeting Filled with Talent

Valley Stream Board Meeting Filled with Talent photo

The Valley Stream Central High School District recognized musicians at the Feb. 11 Board of Education Meeting. Students representing Central, North and South High Schools and Memorial Junior High School were honored for their selection to prestigious performance ensembles.

Central’s Emmett Conway and North’s Amelia Cossentino were accepted to the National Association for Music Education’s All Eastern festival, which will take place in April in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. They also participated in the New York State School Music Association’s All-State ensembles in Rochester in late November, along with Santina Leone from Central, Kailyn Fan and Luiz Lemos from North and Tessa Yan from South. Lawrence Pascual and Caden Swezey of Central, along with Aliana DeLaRosa and Michaela Sinclair of Memorial, took part in the National Music Educators Association’s Day of Percussion. 

A total of 12 students were selected to perform in the Long Island String Festival Association’s Secondary Festival in November. Congratulations to North musicians Julia Acosta, Kaithlyn Massiah and Katherine Torchenaud; Memorial’s Tinatin Gotsiridze and Emily Monfort; North’s Karen Chan, Kailyn Fan, Hannah Lee and Alena Moreira and South students Kori Labeach, Evan Miller and Zoe Minor. 

All four schools had a strong representation at the NMEA All-County Festival in January. Performers from Central included Micheal Bennett, Madison Chamblin, Emmett Conway, Regina Dela Paz, Breanna Duchatellier, Will Germaine, Sarah Hock, Jaime Lazaar, Santina Leone, Matthew Marquez, Kaithlyn Massiah, Julian Mohammed, Emmanuel Nwade, Lawrence Pascual, Chloe Peeples, Arianna Picillo, Hennah Ramadhani, William Regan, Jenna Shakur and Lauren Wright. From Memorial, Joselyn Aponte, Nicole Claussell, Tinatin Gotsiridze, Anna Lobach, Djeynaba Sakho, Matthew Tineo and Matthew Westmeier were accepted. From North, Victoria Alcala, Olivia Aviles, Logan Balsan, Selina Barnes, James Bello, Angelique Brewington, Amelia Cossentino, Amber Cresser, Gerard Delcarpine, John Delcarpine, Gabriel Delos Santos, Kailyn Fan, Christopher Ferro, Angelica Fusco, Charis Hackman, Elyas Layachi, Zakarya Layachi, Hannah Lee, Luiz Lemos, John Paul Lopera, Grace Mahony, Matthew Manza, Gianna Maressa, Joshua Martinez, Giovanni Mascetti, Grace Mastandrea, Phillip Merced, Alena Moreira, Ahmik Muhammad, Sophia Mura, Marissa Nardone, Garrick Neuner, Olivia Neuner, Christopher Ottomanelli, Swaraj Pandit, Everton Prospere, Ariel Reyes, Kimberly Shrestha, Jonathan Sossi-Romano, Evan Thomas, Kevin Villada, Olivia Walsh, Brandon Whipple, Lucy Wu and Jonathan Xavier were selected. South’s All-County performers were Richard Chau, Terrell Cullum, Aidan Dombrosky, Samuel Gracia, Erin Laxton, Jillian Ledesma, Amina Lewis, Zhi Lin, Nicholas Mankong, Miranda Mensies, Evan Miller, Jalen Nicolas, John Saitram, Caraline Scanlon, Rishav Singh, Emrecan Sonmez, Cle-andre Stewart and Tessa Yan.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Bill Heidenreich, Board of Education Vice President James Lavery and District Director of Fine and Performing Arts Dr. Adam Erdos commended the students for their dedication and talents. They also acknowledged principals, music staff members and parents, many of whom were present in the audience, for encouraging students in the music programs. Dr. Erdos additionally thanked the Board of Education for its ongoing support of the arts in education.